Copy this link to share this page with others:

Friday, May 15, 2020


Today, Friday, May 15, at 7 p.m. MT, Gov. Jared Polis, individuals, and communities across Colorado will come together to honor and remember the more than 1,000 Coloradans that we have lost to COVID-19, and more than 300,000 who have lost their lives across the world.

It’s important to remember that those we have lost are more than just numbers on a page, or lines on a graph, or an obituary in the local newspaper. Every person we have lost to this horrible pandemic has a story and a community of loved ones in mourning. Because of the nature of this virus, most of those we have lost passed away without the comfort of having loved ones by their side, and many have not had proper in-person funerals, remembrances, or wakes. It’s on all of us to come together to support each other during these times of such agonizing grief.

To recognize the Day of Remembrance, the State Capitol, along with cities, counties and other organizations, will be turning their lights red at 7:00 p.m. to honor those who have fallen victim to this deadly virus. The state is encouraging buildings and businesses across the state to turn their lights red at 7:00 p.m. and for police and fire departments to turn their lights on at 7:00 p.m. for one minute.

Friday, May 15 is also Peace Officers Memorial Day, which the state will commemorate by lowering flags to half staff, and we encourage Coloradans across our state to commemorate those in the law enforcement community that we have lost as well.

While we can’t come together physically to remember those who have passed, we are encouraging Coloradans to put on a mask or face covering and observe a moment of silence at 7:00 p.m. so we can all reflect on why we are all being asked to sacrifice: to prevent more unnecessary deaths. We also encourage Coloradans to post on social media to raise awareness about the remembrance event and to send a message to those who are struggling that you are not alone, that we’re all in this together, and that we need to continue to stay home, keep our distance, wear masks, and practice proper hygiene to defeat this virus. We have attached some graphics that you are welcome to use on social media as well.

As of Thursday (5/14) at noon, the following cities, counties have confirmed that they will participate:

  • Adams County
  • Boulder County
  • City and County of Broomfield
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Alamosa
  • City of Arvada
  • City of Aurora
  • City of Boulder
  • City of Burlington
  • City of Castle Pines
  • City of Centennial
  • City of Colorado Springs
  • City of Commerce City
  • City of Craig
  • City of Dacono
  • City of Durango
  • City of Edgewater
  • City of Englewood
  • City of Federal Heights
  • City of Fort Collins
  • City of Fort Morgan
  • City of Fountain
  • City of Fruita
  • City of Glendale
  • City of Glenwood Springs
  • City of Grand Junction
  • City of Greeley
  • City of Greenwood Village
  • City of Gunnison
  • City of La Junta
  • City of Lafayette
  • City of Lakewood
  • City of Lamar
  • City of Littleton
  • City of Lone Tree
  • City of Louisville
  • City of Loveland
  • City of Manitou Springs
  • City of Northglenn
  • City of Pueblo
  • City of Sheridan
  • City of Thornton
  • City of Victor
  • City of Westminster
  • City of Wheat Ridge
  • City of Woodland Park
  • City of Yuma
  • Commerce City
  • Douglas County
  • Elbert County
  • Lake County
  • Las Animas County
  • Las Animas County
  • Park County
  • Pueblo County
  • Summit County
  • Town of Avon
  • Town of Bennett
  • Town of Blue River
  • Town of Breckenridge
  • Town of Carbondale
  • Town of Crested Butte
  • Town of Dillon
  • Town of Dolores
  • Town of Elizabeth
  • Town of Estes Park
  • Town of Frederick
  • Town of Frisco
  • Town of Garden City
  • Town of Granby
  • Town of Grand Lake
  • Town of Green Mountain Falls
  • Town of Gypsum
  • Town of Keenesburg
  • Town of Kersey
  • Town of Lyons
  • Town of Mancos
  • Town of Monument
  • Town of Morrison
  • Town of Mountain Village
  • Town of Mt. Crested Butte
  • Town of Nederland
  • Town of Oak Creek
  • Town of Pagosa Springs
  • Town of Palisade
  • Town of Paonia
  • Town of Parachute
  • Town of Parker
  • Town of Rangely
  • Town of Red Cliff
  • Town of Severance
  • Town of Silverthorne
  • Town of Silverton
  • Town of Telluride
  • Town of Vail

The following sports organizations have confirmed that they will participate:

  • Kroenke Sports & Entertainment at the Pepsi Center
  • Empower Field at Mile High
  • Colorado Rockies at Coors Field

We greatly appreciate your helping to share information during this crisis. As always, please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or needs from our office. My cell phone is 210-385-7556. Thank you for doing your part. We’re all in this together!

Analysse Escobar
Deputy Community Engagement Director

200 E Colfax, State Capitol, Denver, CO 80203